Michener Award & Michener-Deacon Fellowships

Finalists for the 2014 Michener award and this year's Fellowship recipients will be announced here in April.

His Excellency, the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, will host the Michener Awards ceremony on Thursday, June 18 at Rideau Hall, Ottawa, where the 2015 Fellowships will be presented and the winner of the 2014 Michener Award will be announced.

Michael Cooke & Governor General Johnston
Michael Cooke - Toronto Star
His Excellency David Johnston

Ottawa, June 11, 2014. The Toronto Star has won the 2013 Michener Award for its extensive coverage of the activities and behaviour of the Mayor of Canada's largest city that resulted in a police investigation and Rob Ford being stripped of all powers.

Citations of Merit were awarded to: Canadian Press, CTV News, the Edmonton Journal and Calgary Herald, The Globe and Mail, and the Windsor Star.

The awards were presented by His Excellency David Johnston at the Michener Award ceremony held at Rideau Hall in Ottawa.

All the details.

Ottawa, May 20, 2014 - The Michener-Deacon Fellowship for Journalism Education is awarded to Francine Pelletier - a Montreal writer and independent filmmaker.

CBC journalist Rita Celli is the recipient of The Michener-Deacon Fellowship for investigative reporting.

All the Details.

Ottawa, April 28, 2014 – The Michener Awards Foundation today announced six finalists for the 2013 Michener Award for meritorious public service journalism.

The finalists are: The Canadian Press; CTV News; The Edmonton Journal and Calgary Herald (joint submission); The Globe and Mail; The Toronto Star; and The Windsor Star.

All The Details.

His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, will host the Michener Awards ceremony at Rideau Hall on June 11 when the winner of the 2013 Michener Award will be announced and two Michener-Deacon Fellowships will be presented.

Gerry Nott
Gerry Nott
Postmedia-Ottawa Citizen
His Excellency David Johnston

Ottawa, June 18, 2013. Postmedia and The Ottawa Citizen have won the 2012 Michener Award for detailed and sustained reporting that exposed the use of “robocalls” to mislead and harass voters during the 2011 federal election campaign.

Citations of Merit were awarded to the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and Société Radio-Canada’s Enquête; The Coast (Halifax); La Presse; The Toronto Star; and The Vancouver Sun.

The awards were presented by His Excellency David Johnston at the Michener Award ceremony held at Rideau Hall in Ottawa.

All the details.

Watch The Michener Awards On

The Michener Awards Foundation has expanded its support for journalism that serves the public interest. Effective in 2012 the foundation will award two fellowships, one for an investigative journalism project and another for journalism education. The details.

Judges for the 2013 Michener Award:

Kim Kierans (chair), Professor School of Journalism and Vice President University of King's College in Halifax and former CBC news reporter and editor;

Kevin Crowley, Director of Communications and Public Affairs at Wilfrid Laurier University and former business editor with the Waterloo Region Record;

Allan Mayer, former editor-in-chief of the Edmonton Journal and former reporter with the Edmonton Sun and London Free Press;

Claude Papineau, former Vice President for French Services of The Canadian Press and former Parliamentary Correspondent;

Christopher Waddell, Director of the School of Journalism and Communication at Carleton University and former National Editor of The Globe and Mail and Parliamentary Bureau Chief for CBC Television News.

Judges for the 2014 Michener-Deacon Fellowships:

Clinton Archibald (chair), associate professor, professor of public ethics (retired), St. Paul University, Ottawa;

Michael Goldbloom, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of Bishops University, Sherbrooke, Quebec, and former publisher of The Gazette and the Toronto Star;

Ivor Shapiro, Chair Ryerson School of Journalism, former contributing editor Saturday Night magazine, managing editor of Chatelaine magazine, feature writer Toronto Life, The Walrus and MacLean's;

Susan Mitton, former regional director CBC Maritimes, Director of Radio for Nova Scotia, Executive Producer CBC radio news and current affairs, Halifax;

Maryse Cardin, Instructor, School of Communication, Capilano University, public relations practitioner, former partner Worldcom Group.

The Michener AwardSome 40 years ago former Governor General Roland Michener conceived his plan to establish an annual award to honour the best of meritorious public service journalism in memory of his daughter Wendy. What was missing from that plan was a visible representation of the award. To that end he summoned young artist John Matthews to Rideau Hall and asked him to create a fitting and lasting symbol of excellence in Canadian journalism. This is the story of the Michener Award and its creator. More..

Back to the Top

Right Honourable Roland Michener
The Michener Awards Foundation was established to recognize and promote excellence in Canadian public service journalism. It's named after the Right Honourable Roland Michener, P.C., C.C., who served as Governor General of Canada from 1967-1974.
The Michener Awards Foundation Heraldic Badge
The Michener Awards Foundation Heraldic Badge

"VERITAS ANCILLA LIBERTATIS" Truth in the Service of Freedom

The badge borrows the strong blue and gold colours from the Michener coat of arms. The crossed quills represent print journalism and a lightning bolt for broadcast and other forms of electronic journalism.